These delegates signed the
G°. Washington
Presidt and
deputy from
Geo: Read
Gunning Bedford jun
John Dickinson
Richard Bassett
Jaco: Broom
James McHenry
Dan of St Thos. Jenifer
Danl. Carroll
John Blair
James Madison Jr.
North Carolina
Wm. Blount
Richd. Dobbs Spaight
Hu Williamson
South Carolina
J. Rutledge
Charles Cotesworth Pinckney
Charles Pinckney
Pierce Butler
William Few
Abr Baldwin
New Hampshire
John Langdon
Nicholas Gilman
Nathaniel Gorham
Rufus King
Wm. Saml. Johnson
Roger Sherman
New York
Alexander Hamilton
New Jersey
Wil: Livingston
David Brearley
Wm. Paterson
Jona: Dayton
B Franklin
Thomas Mifflin
Robt. Morris
Geo. Clymer
Thos. FitzSimons
Jared Ingersoll
James Wilson
Gouv Morris
Brief biographies of each of the
Founding Fathers who were
delegates to the Constitutional
Drafted by Thomas Jefferson
between June 11 and June 28,
1776, the Declaration of
Independence is at once the
nation's most cherished symbol of
liberty and Jefferson's most
enduring monument. Here, in
exalted and unforgettable
phrases, Jefferson expressed the
convictions in the minds and
hearts of the American people.
The political philosophy of the
Declaration was not new; its
ideals of individual liberty had
already been expressed by John
Locke and the Continental
philosophers. What Jefferson did
was to summarize this philosophy
in "self-evident truths" and set
forth a list of grievances against
the King in order to justify before
the world the breaking of ties
between the colonies and the
mother country.
Constitutional Amendments 1-10
make up what is known as
The Bill of Rights.
During the debates on the adoption
of the Constitution, its opponents
repeatedly charged that the
Constitution as drafted would open
the way to tyranny by the central
government. Fresh in their minds
was the memory of the British
violation of civil rights before and
during the Revolution. They
demanded a "bill of rights" that
would spell out the immunities of
individual citizens. Several state
conventions in their formal
ratification of the Constitution asked
for such amendments; others ratified
the Constitution with the
understanding that the amendments
would be offered.

On September 25, 1789, the First
Congress of the United States
therefore proposed to the state
legislatures 12 amendments to the
Constitution that met arguments
most frequently advanced against it.
The first two proposed amendments,
which concerned the number of
constituents for each Representative
and the compensation of
Congressmen, were not ratified.
Articles 3 to 12, however, ratified by
three-fourths of the state
legislatures, constitute the first 10
amendments of the Constitution,
known as the Bill of Rights.
The original states, except Rhode
Island, collectively appointed 70
individuals to the Constitutional
Convention, but a number did not
accept or could not attend. Those
who did not attend included Richard
Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, Thomas
Jefferson, John Adams, Samuel
Adams and, John Hancock.

In all, 55 delegates attended the
Constitutional Convention sessions,
but only 39 actually signed the
Constitution. The delegates ranged
in age from Jonathan Dayton, aged
26, to Benjamin Franklin, aged 81,
who was so infirm that he had to be
carried to sessions in a sedan chair.

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Copyright © 2021  Barry M. Baker  
United States
Becoming a Police Officer
An Insider's Guide to a Career
in Law Enforcement
There are Five
Indispensable Truths
for a Successful Police
Recommended reading
for those of you
thinking about
becoming a Police
Today's police officers are
afforded the best ballistic
protection in history... and
it only gets better.
Search the WEB